Leadership

AAA Past Presidents

  • William J McGee (1902-1904)

  • F W Putnam (1905-1906)

  • Franz Boas (1907-1908)

  • W H Holmes (1909-1910)

  • J Walter Fewkes (1911-1912)

  • Roland B Dixon (1913-1914)

  • F W Hodge (1915-1916)

  • Alfred L Kroeber (1917-1918)

  • Clark Wissler (1919-1920)

  • W C Farabee (1921-1922)

  • Walter Hough (1923-1924)

  • Ales Hrdlicka (1925-1926)

  • Marshall H Saville (1927-1928)

  • Alfred M Tozzer (1929-1930)

  • George G MacCurdy (1931)

  • John R Swanton (1932)

  • Fay-Cooper Cole (1933-1934)

  • Robert H Lowie (1935)

  • Herbert J Spinden (1936)

  • Nels C Nelson (1937)

  • Edward Sapir (1938)

  • Diamond Jenness (1939)

  • John M Cooper (1940)

  • Elsie Clews Parsons (1941)

  • A V Kidder (1942)

  • Leslie Spier (1943)

  • Robert Redfield (1944)

  • Neil M Judd (1945)

  • Ralph Linton (1946)

  • Ruth F Benedict (Jan-May 1947)

  • Clyde Kluckhohn (May-Dec 1947)

  • Harry L Shapiro (1948)

  • A Irving Hallowell (1949)

  • Ralph L Beals (1950)

  • William W Howells (1951)

  • Wendell C Bennett (1952)

  • Fred R Eggan (1953)

  • John Otis Brew (1954)

  • George P Murdock (1955)

  • Emil W Haury (1956)

  • E Adamson Hoebel (1957)

  • Harry Hoijer (1958)

  • Sol Tax (1959)

  • Margaret Mead (1960)

  • Gordon R Willey (1961)

  • Sherwood L Washburn (1962)

  • Morris E Opler (1963)

  • Leslie A White (1964)

  • Alexander Spoehr (1965)

  • John P Gillin (1966)

  • Frederica de Laguna (1967)

  • Irving Rouse (1968)

  • Cora DuBois (1969)

  • George M Foster, Jr (1970)

  • Charles Wagley (1971)

  • Anthony F C Wallace (1972)
    614 Convent Rd
    Aston, PA 19014-1208

  • Joseph B Casagrande (1973)

  • Edward H Spicer (1974)

  • Ernestine Friedl (1975)
    efriedl@acpub.duke.edu

  • Walter Goldschmidt (1976)

  • Richard N Adams (1977)
    rbadams@guate.net

  • Francis L K Hsu (1978)

  • Paul J Bohannan (1979)

  • Conrad M Arensberg (1980)

 

 

  • William C Sturtevant (1981)

  • M Margaret Clark (1982)

  • Dell H Hymes (1983)

  • Nancy O Lurie (1984-1985)
    (o) 414/278-2773

  • June Helm (1986-1987)

  • Roy A Rappaport (1988-1989)

  • Jane Buikstra (1989-1991)
    buikstra@unm.edu

  • Annette Weiner (1991-1993)

  • James Peacock (1993-1995)
    (o) 919/962-3094
    peacock@unc.edu

  • Yolanda T. Moses (1995-1997)
    yolanda.moses@ucr.edu
    or yolanda.moses@cgu.edu

  • Jane Hill (1997-1999)
    jhill@u.arizona.edu

  • Louise Lamphere (1999-2001)
    lamphere@unm.edu

  • Don Brenneis (2001-2003)
    brenneis@cats.ucsc.edu

  • Elizabeth M Brumfiel (2003-2005)

  • Alan Goodman
    (2005-2007)
    agoodman@hampshire.edu

  • Setha M Low (2007-2009)
    slow@gc.cuny.edu

  • Virginia Dominguez (2009-2011)
    vdomingu@uiuc.edu

  • Leith Mullings (2011-2013)
    leith.mullings@gmail.com

  • Monica Heller (2013-2015)
    monica.heller@utoronto.ca

  • Alisse Waterston (2015-2017)
    awaterston@jjay.cuny.edu



Governance & Organization


Presidents' Gallery

William J. McGee William J. McGee
(1902-1904)

 

 

 

 

 

F.W. PutnamF.W. Putnam
(1905-1906)

 

 

 

 

 

Franz BoasFranz Boas
(1907-1908)