Prizes & Awards

Anthropology in Media Award (AIME)

The Anthropology in Media Award (AIME) was established in 1987 to recognize the successful communication of anthropology to the general public through the media. There are no eligibility restrictions, and the award is given annually. The awardee is recommended by the Awards Committee and chosen by the AAA Executive Board at its spring meeting.

The awardee is given a certificate at the annual meeting.

Call for AIME Nominations

AAA is pleased to announce the call for nominations for the Anthropology in Media Award (AIME). Established in 1987, the AIME recognizes successful communication of anthropology to the general public through the media. It seeks to honor those who have raised public awareness of anthropology and have had a broad and sustained public impact at local, national, and international levels. The AIME Award is designed to increase awareness of the significant contributions anthropologists have made and will make to society and recognize those who have successfully done so. By allowing the general public access to the study and profession of anthropology we facilitate contribution to and understanding of the field of anthropology itself. Please take this opportunity to offer a recommendation of someone whom you feel is deserving of this award.

Guidelines for the Preparation and Submission of AAA Award Nomination Materials

Each nomination packet should include a letter of recommendation in support of the nominee. The letter should provide a summary of the nominee's accomplishments, and it should demonstrate (not merely assert) the nominee's qualifications. The packet should include supporting materials, which should not be expected to stand on their own. In other words, these materials should support the case being made in the nomination letter, demonstrating its assertions. The nomination packet should not exceed 25 pages. Please note that nominees are considered for three years. Those not chosen in the first year will be considered for two more years. If desired, nomination packets can be updated by March 1 each year, or nominations can be withdrawn from consideration.

The nominee's accomplishments should be contextualized and put into perspective. Depending upon the award in question, one may want to address the following types of questions:

  • Where does the nominee's work fit within the discipline? What is its significance?
  • What is the extent of the nominee's work and its impact on the field? On students? On the general public? On other disciplines?
  • How does the particular book or work upon which the nominee's recommendation is based demonstrate excellence: conceptually, in terms of impact, creativity, and influenced

Electronic submissions to are encouraged or submit 6 copies of the materials to: AAA Awards Committee, AAA, 2300 Clarendon Blvd, Suite 1301, Arlington,VA 22201; 703/528-1902 ext 1161; fax: 703/528-3546.

Note deadline for nominations March 1 each year.

For further information, contact Kathy Ano at

2014 Awardee
Tara Waters Lumpkin
Previous Awardees
2013 Kathy Reichs
2012 Ann Gibbons
2011 Helen Fisher
2010 Roy Richard Grinker
2009 John Noble Wilford
2008 James McKenna
2006 Eugenie Scott
2005 Meredith F. Small
2004 Melvin J Konner
2002 John R Rickford
1999 Donald C Johanson
1997 Edward T Hall
1996 Micaela di Leonardo
1995 Alan Lomax
1994 Katherine S. Newman
1993 Jonathan Benthall
1992 Jean Rouch, Jack Weatherford
1991 Ursula Le Guin
1990 Tony Hillerman
1989 Jane Goodall
1987 Stephen Jay Gould