Prizes & Awards

Alfred Vincent Kidder Award for Eminence in the Field of American Archaeology

Established in 1950, the Alfred Vincent Kidder Award for Eminence in the Field of American Archaeology was given every three years to an outstanding archaeologist specializing in the archaeology of the Americas. The award has been given alternately to specialists in Mesoamerican archaeology and the archaeology of the Southwestern region -- areas that were both central to the pioneering and exemplary work of A. V. Kidder.

This award, presented by the AAA but selected by the Archaeology Division of AAA, is now given every two years.  Nominations should be sent by FEBRUARY 15 of the year in which the award is given to the Archaeology Division Secretary.  They should be comprised of a cover letter of nomination, stating explicitly the qualifications and accomplishments of the nominee, and a CV.  They will be reviewed by a specially selected Kidder Award Committee.

Please address all nomination materials to the Kidder Award committee and send either by mail or as an email attachment to the Archaeology Division Secretary who will forward materials to the selection committee. The Secretary’s contact information can be found on the AD website.

For more information about the prizes please click here.

2014 Awardee
Timothy Kohler
Previous Awardees
2012 Wendy Ashmore
2010 William Lipe
2008 David C. Grove
2006 Jeffrey Dean
2004 Rene Millon and George Cowgill
2001 Linda S Cordell
1998 Jeffrey R Parsons
1995 Jesse D Jennings
1992 Kent V Flannery
1989 Richard B Woodbury
1986 Ignacio Bernal
1983 Watson Smith
1980 William T Sanders
1977 Emil W Haury
1974 Gordon R Willey
1971 Richard S MacNeish
1968 Paul S Martin
1965 Neil Judd
1962 Tatiana Proskouriakoff
1959 Charles C DiPeso
1956 Samuel K Lothrop
1953 Earl H Morris
1950 Alfred Marston Tozzer