Prizes & Awards

The Robert B Textor and Family Prize for Excellence in Anticipatory Anthropology

The Robert B Textor and Family Prize for Excellence in Anticipatory Anthropology was established in 1998. This is an annual prize given by the AAA to encourage and reward excellent contributions in the use of anthropological perspectives, theories, models and methods in an anticipatory mode. Such contributions will allow citizens, leaders and governments to make informed policy choices, and thereby improve their society's or community's chances for realizing preferred futures and avoiding unwanted ones. The time frame for such anticipation will normally be the middle-range future (5-15 years).

Call for Nominations

Members of the AAA may nominate any member for the Textor Prize. A member may nominate him/herself without prejudice. Evidence of excellence in anticipatory anthropology might take the form of a book, article, government document, document of a non-government organization, computer program, film, multimedia presentation, physical model, scientific invention or other suitable form of evidence that exists now or is developed in the future. Whatever the form, the evidence must be available to the public. The Awards Committee is free to award the prize on the basis of a single item of evidence, or a series of items through time. Thus it will be possible for an anthropologist to win the Textor Prize despite being less well known and junior in status--provided only that the evidence of excellence is clear and compelling.

Preference will be given to a contribution that is excellent in one or more of the following ways:

  • The contribution focuses compellingly on protecting or enhancing quality of life or environment.
  • It anticipates and deals with problems of true seriousness to substantial numbers of people.
  • It is based on sound data, rigorously analyzed yet imaginatively interpreted.
  • It makes sound use of the concepts of culture and sociocultural system.
  • It opens new methodological, theoretical or substantive vistas.
  • It recommends practical or plausible policies or procedures that a society, community or organization can use to deal effectively with projected opportunities or dangers.
  • It communicates its anticipatory message effectively to both an anthropological audience and the concerned general public.

Download complete prospectus (pdf file)

Guidelines for the Preparation and Submission of AAA Award Nomination Materials

Each nomination packet should include a letter of recommendation in support of the nominee. The letter should provide a summary of the nominee's accomplishments, and it should demonstrate (not merely assert) the nominee's qualifications. The packet should include supporting materials, which should not be expected to stand on their own. In other words, these materials should support the case being made in the nomination letter, demonstrating its assertions. The nomination packet should not exceed 25 pages. Please note that nominees are considered for three years. Those not chosen in the first year will be considered for two more years. If desired, nomination packets can be updated by March 1 each year, or nominations can be withdrawn from consideration.

The nominee's accomplishments should be contextualized and put into perspective. Depending upon the award in question, one may want to address the following types of questions:

  • Where does the nominee's work fit within the discipline? What is its significance?
  • What is the extent of the nominee's work and its impact on the field? On students? On the general public? On other disciplines?
  • How does the particular book or work upon which the nominee's recommendation is based demonstrate excellence: conceptually, in terms of impact, creativity, and influence?

In keeping with the Prospectus for this prize, each person designated as winner will be required to signify in writing that he/she is willing to serve as a member of the Advisory Panel for the following three years, to participate in choosing subsequent winners. It is understood that normally a winner will serve as a member of the Panel the first year, as Chair of the Panel the second year, and as a member again the third year. These arrangements are subject to possible adjustments for an absence that might be occasioned by illness, fieldwork, sabbatical leave, etc. If there are questions about this requirement, please contact Kathy Ano.

Submit 4 copies of the materials to: AAA Awards Committee, AAA, 2300 Clarendon Blvd, Suite 1301, Arlington,VA 22201; 703/528-1902 ext 1161; fax: 703/528-3546.

Note deadline for nominations March 1 each year.

For further information, contact Kathy Ano, American Anthropological Association at

2014 Awardee
Duana Fullwiley
Previous Awardees
2013 Jay Sokolovsky
2012 Elizabeth Briody, Robert Trotter, Tracy Meerwarth
2011 Mark Nichter
2010 Robert A. Rubinstein
2009 Alexander Laban Hinton
2007 James Diego Vigil
2006 Antonius Robben
2005 Katherine Newman
2004 Carlos Vélez Ibáñez
2003 Margaret Lock
2002 Paul Stoller
2001 Gay Becker
2000 Setha Low
1999 David Hakken