Commission on Governance

Governance Commission information

Objectives: (1) to review the relationship between the AAA Executive Board and the Sections to find ways of insuring greater Section participation in AAA governance (2) to enhance the mechanisms for communication and feedback within the AAA as a whole, especially in the period between annual meetings.

Duration of the Commission: 3 years.

Commission Reports to: Association Operations Committee.

Responsibilities

Membership and Appointment: 14 members

Meetings and Schedule: Phone conferences in the spring, 2005. One formal meeting, Fall 2005. Then, as needed.

Staff Liaison: Bill Davis, Executive Director, American Anthropological Association, 2200 Wilson Blvd., Suite 600, Arlington, VA 22201, (o) 703/528-1902, (f) 703/528-3546, bdavis@aaanet.org

Members:

Don Brenneis
brenneis@ucsc.edu
Liz Brumfiel
ebrumfiel@northwestern.edu
Dan Segal
dsegal@pitzer.edu
Lee D. Baker
ldbaker@duke.edu
Linda Bennett
LBennett@memphis.edu
Christa Craven
christa.craven@verizon.net
Tim Earle
tke299@northwestern.edu
Jason Gonzalez
jayce@siu.edu
Dorothy Holland
dholland@unc.edu
Madelyn (Miki) Iris
miris@northwestern.edu
Judy Irvine
jti@umich.edu
Michael Lambek
lambek@utsc.utoronto.ca
Leslie Lieberman
llieberm@mail.ucf.edu
Mac Marshall
mac-marshall@uiowa.edu

Alan Goodman
agoodman@hampshire.edu


1995
1996
1997
1998
2004 Reports
2005
2005
2005 Reports
2006
2006
2006
2006 Reports
2008Reports
2009Reports
AAA Committees
AAA Guide
About AAA
ACC
Accessibility
Actions
Actions
Active Commissions and Task Forces
Agenda
AIDS Commission
Annual Business Meeting
Annual Meeting Program Committee
Annual Reports
Anthropology Education Committee
Anthropology News
AnthroSource
Archive
Archive
Association Operations Committee
Audit Committee
Awards
Awards Committee
Benefits
Blog
Bylaws
Calendar
Careers
Careers DVD
CEAUSSIC
Child Care
Climate Change Task Force
Coalition Partnerships
Commission on Governance
Committee for Human Rights
Committee on Gender Equity in Anthropology
Committee on Minority Issues in Anthropology
Committee on Public Policy
Committee on World Anthropologies
Committee/Commission
CoPAPIA
Departments
Donation
E-Advocacy
Elections
Ethics
Ethics Committee
Exhibitors
Fellowships
Field Schools
Finance Committee
For Media
For Practitioners
For Researchers
For Students
For Teachers
Governance & Organization
Handbook on Ethical Issues
Help Information
History of AAA
Homepage
HomepageFEATURES
HomepageHIGHLIGHTS
HomepageNEWS
Information
Internships
Issues & News
Labor Relations Commission
Leadership
Legislative
Links
List
Long Range Plan
Long Range Planning Committee
Mailing Lists
Meeting Information
Meetings
Members in the News
Membership & Donations
Mission
Nominations Committee
On Race and Racism
Partners
PDFs
Placement Center
Policies
Policy Actions
Presenters & Attendees
Press Kit
Press Room
Prizes & Awards
Professional Development
Program & Abstracts
Public Policy/Advocacy
Publications
Resource Devlopment Committee
Resources
Resources on Race and Racism
Schedule
Section Reports
Sections & Interest Groups
Staff Directory
Statements
Surveys
Training Resources
Travel
Volunteers
Workshops
Workshops
AAA Highlights
 
camera Photo Contest Closing Soon
Submit your photos online by  October 15, 2009.
Enter today >>
 
 
Nominations for 2010 Elections AAA Leadership Nominations
Submit nominations for the 2010 AAA elections by October 12, 2009.
Read more and submit today >>
 
 
Anthrosource <a href="http://www.aaanet.org/publications/anthrosource/AnthroSource-Migration-Update.cfm">Migration Updates</a>

 
 
race_female_banner <a href="http://www.aaanet.org/resources/A-Public-Education-Program.cfm">Discover the Race Project</a>

 
 
New Features
In Focus: Reflections on Anthropology News
In Focus: Reflections on Anthropology News
A new forum where Anthropology News readers can discuss issues central to “In Focus” thematic commentary series and other AN content.
We welcome your comments!
We welcome your comments!>
 
 
What do you think?
What do you think?
We appreciate your feedback on the new site.
Take our 3 minute survey>