Committee on Public Policy

The Anthropology in Public Policy Award

The American Anthropological Association (AAA) Committee on Public Policy (CoPP) is pleased to announce the establishment of a biennial award, the AAA Anthropology in Public Policy Award (AiPP), to honor anthropologists whose work has had a significant, positive influence on the course of government decision-making and action. Public policy is broadly defined to include measures created by any level of government and addressing the full range of contemporary human problems. Starting in 2013, the award will be conferred every other year in rotation with the AAA Solon T. Kimball award. Winners will be invited to give a lecture at the AAA annual meeting where their award will be announced and they will receive $500 and a commemorative plaque.

For further award information, click here (PDF).

Read about the 2013 AiPP Award Winner - Dr. Nancy Scheper-Hughes (PDF)