Squeaky Wheel Award

The Squeaky Wheel Award, sponsored by the Committee on the Status of Women in Anthropology (COSWA), recognizes individuals who have demonstrated the courage to bring to light and investigate practices in anthropology that are potentially discriminatory to women, or have acted to improve the status of women in anthropology through activities that raise awareness of women’s contribution to anthropology or identify barriers to full participation by women in anthropology.

Past Winners

2007 - Joan Gero
2006 - Sandra Morgen
2005 - Not given
2004 - Adrienne Zihlman
2003 - Sue Kent
2002 - Carole Crumley
2001 - Naomi Quinn
2000 - Roger Sanjek
1999 - Carol Kramer
1998 - Louise Lamphere
1997 - John Yellen


A nominee may be from the field of anthropology or outside it. Anyone may submit nominations, including non-AAA members or non-anthropologists. Nominations should include the name, affiliation and title of the individual being nominated and a one- or two-paragraph description of the reason for the nomination and the nature of the person’s contribution to the improvement of the status of women in anthropology. The nomination also should include the name, address, phone number and email address of the nominator. Nominators may be contacted for additional material concerning finalists. Nominations should be sent by Oct 1 to Carla Guerron-Montero, cguerron@udel.edu

horizontal line
About AAA
/ Join AAA / Jobs & Careers / AAA Meetings / AAA Publications
Sections & Interest Groups
/ Staff Directory / Anthro Links / Support AAA

Questions or comments? We want to hear from you!
Contact us  / AAA Privacy Policy

Copyright 1996-2006, American Anthropological Association
2200 Wilson Blvd, Suite 600, Arlington, VA 22201; phone 703/528-1902; fax 703/528-3546
horizontal line