The Diana Forsythe Prize


S. Lochlann JainIt is with great pleasure that we announce the winner of the 2014 Diana Forsythe Prize, S. Lochlain Jain, for her book Malignant: How Cancer Becomes US  (California Press, 2013). Adriana Petryna has been awarded an honorable mention for her book When Experiments Travel: Trials and the Global Search for Human Subjects (Princeton University Press, 2009).


The Diana Forsythe Prize was created in 1998 to celebrate the best book or series of published articles in the spirit of Diana Forsythe’s feminist anthropological research on work, science, and/or technology, including biomedicine. The Prize is awarded annually at the meeting of the American Anthropological Association by a committee consisting of one representative from the Society for the Anthropology of Work (SAW) and two from the Committee on the Anthropology of Science, Technology, and Computing (CASTAC). It is supported by the General Anthropology Division (GAD) and Bern Shen.

Previous recipients are:

2013: Heather Paxson for The Life of Cheese: Crafting Food and Value in America (University of California Press, 2012)

2012: Rene Almeling for Sex Cells: The Medical Market for Eggs and Sperm (University of California Press, 2011)

2011: Alexander Edmonds for Pretty Modern: Beauty, Sex and Plastic Surgery in Brazil (Duke University Press, 2010)

2010: Elly Teman for Birthing a Mother, The Surrogate Body and the Pregnant Self (University of California Press, 2010)

2009: Emily Martin, for Bipolar Expeditions: Mania and Depression in American Culture (Princeton University Press, 2007)

2008: Joao Biehl, for Will to Live: AIDS Therapies and the Politics of Survival (Princeton University Press, 2007)

2007: Marcia Inhorn, for Local Babies, Global Science: Gender, religion and in vitro fertilization in Egypt (Routledge, 2003)

2006: Jan English-Lueck, for Cultures@SiliconValley (Stanford University Press, 2002)

2005: Joe Dumit, for Picturing Personhood: Brain Scans and Biomedical Identity (Princeton University Press, 2004)

2003: Cori Hayden, for When Nature Goes Public: The Making and Unmaking of Bioprospecting in Mexico (Princeton University Press, 2003)

2002: Lucy Suchman, for the body of her work

2001: Stefan Helmreich, for Silicon Second Nature: Culturing Artificial Life in a Digital World (University of California Press, 1998)

2000: David Hess, for the body of his work

1999: Rayna Rapp, for Testing Women, Testing the Fetus: The Impact of Amniocentesis in America (Routledge, 1999).

GAD Prize for Exemplary Cross-Field Scholarship

The General Anthropology Division (GAD) has long supported innovative scholarship that transcends the seemingly all too rigid boundaries that divide the various fields of anthropology. In this spirit, GAD is pleased to announce the 2014 recipient, Dr. Charles Briggs of the University of California-Berkley for his essay, “Dear Dr. Freud,” which appeared in Cultural Anthropology, vol. 29, Issue 2, pp. 312-43.

Recent Recipients

2013 Juno Rheana Parrenas for “Producing Affect: Transnational Volunteerism in a Malaysian Orangutan Rehabilitation Center,” American Ethnologist 2013, 39(4):241-262

2013 Runner-up Duana Fullwiley for “Revaluating Genetic Causation: Biology, Economy, and Kinship in Dakar, Senegal,” American Ethnologist 2010, 37(4):638-661

2012 Jonathan Marks for “What is the Viewpoint of Hemoglobin, and Does it Matter?” History and Philosophy of the Life Sciences 2009, 31:241-262

2011 Kathy Weedman-Arthur for “Feminine Knowledge and Skill Reconsidered: Women and Flaked Stone Tools,” American Anthropologist, 112(2): 228–243.

Honorable Mention: Zoe Crossland for “Of Clues and Signs: The Dead Body and its Evidential Traces” American Anthropologist. 2009. 111(1): 69-80.

2010 David J. Hess for “Crosscurrents: Social Movements and the Anthropology of Science and Technology,” American Anthropologist, 109(3): 463–472.

Honorable Mention: Pamela L. Geller for “Bodyscapes, Biology, and Heteronormativity,” American Anthropologist, 111(4): 504-516.

2009 Michael M. J. Fischer for “Four Cultural Genealogies for A Recombinant Anthropology of Science and Technology Studies” Cultural Anthropology, 22(3): 539-614.

Honorable Mention: Kevin Birth for “Time and the Biological Consequences of Globalization.” Current Anthropology. 2007. 48(2):215-226, 232-236.

2008 Ron Eglash, et al for “Culturally Situated Design Tools: Ethnocomputing from Field Site to Classroom”, American Anthropologist, Vol. 108, No. 2. (2006), pp. 347-362.

Honorable Mention: Naomi Quinn for “The Self.” Anthropological Theory. 2006. 6(3): 362-384.


How to Apply:

All nominations for the Diane Forsythe Prize, including self-nominations, are welcomed. To be eligible, books must have been published in the last five years (copyright of 2010 or later). The current submission deadline is July 31, 2015 (early nominations appreciated) and nominations should be sent via email to Selection Committee Chair, João Biehl at Publishers, please send a copy of nominated titles to each of the selection committee members listed below. Publishers should submit three copies of the nominated title, one to each committee member listed below:


João Biehl
Department of Anthropology
Princeton University
128 Aaron Burr Hall
Princeton, NJ 08544

Stefan Helmreich
Department of Anthropology
Room E53-335Q
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02142 USA

Nina Brown
Department of Anthropology
Community College of Baltimore County
7201 Rossville Boulevard
Baltimore, MD 21237-3899


The Cross-Field Award is awarded annually by GAD for a peer-reviewed journal article published in the preceding three years that demonstrates exemplary scholarship from any theoretical or methodological perspective including applied research that transcends two or more fields of anthropology, broadly construed, or is interdisciplinary in nature. The Award carries an honorarium of $1000.

To nominate an article published in 2012 or later for the 2014 GAD Award for Exemplary Cross-Field Scholarship or to obtain additional information, please contact Robert Myers at Nominations will be accepted until July 1, 2015. Self-nominations are welcome and should include an email nominating an eligible article plus a .pdf file of the article.