The Middle East Section (MES) of the American Anthropological Association convenes anthropologists with an interest in the peoples, cultures and histories of the Middle East. Our membership is noteworthy for its disciplinary diversity: socio-cultural anthropologists, linguistic anthropologists, physical anthropologists and archaeologists, as well as practicing anthropologists from these subdisciplines, all participate actively in the section, and our membership thrives on the participation of members from the United States, the Middle East, and from other parts of the world. The activities of the MES, while ongoing, peak at the annual conference of the American Anthropological Association, where the MES sponsors sessions and panels proposed by its membership. The MES also awards an annual student paper prize.

The membership of the MES and anthropology as a whole are uniquely poised to contribute to establishing and promoting public understanding and policy frameworks that accommodate the historical experience and sociocultural diversity of the peoples of the Middle East.

The MES is led by an elected Board of Directors (listed below) who work and serve within the parameters described in the Middle East Section bylaws.

Board of Directors

Lara Deeb
Scripps College
ldeeb@scrippscollege.edu
President (2012-2014)

Ilana Feldman
George Washington University
ifeldman@gwu.edu
President Elect (2013-2014)

Kristin Monroe
University of Kentucky
kristin.monroe@uky.edu
Treasurer (2013-2016)

Andrew Gardner
University of Puget Sound
gardner@pugetsound.edu
Secretary (2013-2016)

Rehenuma Asmi
Columbia University, Teachers College
rehenumasmi@gmail.com
Contributing Editor to Anthropology News
Student Representative to the Board (2011-2014)

Kirsten Scheid
American University of Beirut
kirstenlscheid@gmail.com
Board Member (2012-2015)

Lori Allen
University of Cambridge
laa29@cam.ac.uk
Board Member (2013-2016)

Rochelle Davis
Georgetown University
rad39@georgetown.edu
Board Member (2013-2016)

Esra Ozyurek
London School of Economics
e.g.ozyurek@lse.ac.uk
Board Member (2013-2016)

Moain Sadeq
Qatar University
msadeq@qu.edu.qa
Board Member, Archaeology Seat (2012-2015)