SACC Mentors

SACC mentors are members who have volunteered to answer your questions. Please feel free to contact one or more of the mentors listed below.

 

Dr. Jessica Amato

Napa Valley College, Napa, CA

Teaching: Four-field approach, Linguistic Anthro, Bio Anthro with Lab.

Research: Political ecology theory and science/conservation studies.

jamato@napavalley.edu

 

Anthony Balzano, Ph.D.

Professor of Anthropology & Sociology

Dept. of Social Sciences & History

Sussex County (NJ) Community College

Teaching: 4-fields, Cultural, Physical, the Caribbean, religion, drugs, body art/body modification, music.

Research: undergraduate pedagogy, Haiti, land tenure, peasant agriculture, agroforestry, NGO’s, Haitian diaspora.

abalzano@sussex.edu

SKYPE: anthonybalzano

SCCC Office: 973-300-2177

Cell: 973-271-7680

 

Autumn Cahoon

Adjunct Professor Anthropology

Sierra College

Teaching: Physical Anthropology (lecture and lab), Forensic Anthropology,  and Cultural Anthropology (online and face to face)

Research:  Sex estimation, Sociolinguistics

ACahoon@sierracollege.edu

 

Laura T. González

Associate Professor, Anthropology

San Diego Miramar College

Teaching: Cultural and Physical Anthropology

Research: Food and Culture, Arranged Marriage in India

Lagonzal@sdccd.edu

 

Patricia Hamlen

Associate Professor, Anthropology

Harper College, Chicago, IL

Teaching/research: Introduction to Anthropology, Cultural Anthropology, Archeology, current topics in anthropology, globalization

phamlen@harpercollege.edu

(847) 925-6215

 

Angela C. Jenks, Ph.D.

Current position: LPSOE, Department of Anthropology, University of California, Irvine

Previous position: Full-time Instructor of Anthropology, Los Angeles Southwest College

Areas of teaching/research: Cultural Anthropology, Medical Anthropology, Race and Ethnicity, Urban Anthropology, United States

Contact: angela.jenks@gmail.com

 

Diane Levine

Retired Chair of Anthropological and Geographical Sciences

Pierce College, Woodland Hills, CA

Fields of teaching/research: Linguistics, Native Americans, Gender

levinedp@gmail.com

(818) 257-4330

 

Tad McIlwraith

University of Guelph, Ontario, Canada

Teaching/research: Introduction to Cultural Anthropology; Indigenous Peoples of North America

tmcilwra@uoguelph.ca